Leaked Photos: 2012 Mercedes SL – Inbred German Styling-fest Continues..!

Funny how these things transpire sometimes. Last night I was out for a wintery walk in the neighborhood when I found myself doing a double-take towards a rumbling, long-nosed Mercedes as it slowly drove on by. My initial, one-eyed glance told my brain that it was an SLR Supercar, which in turn prompted both of my eyes’ attention to reveal that it was actually just an AMG-tweaked SL…

The new 2012 Mercedes SL

Which then got me thinking about the current/new Mercedes ‘sporting’ line-up… and how the new SLK looks like it’s attempting an ill-conceived, poorly-proportioned impression of the blindingly stunning SLS AMG Gullwing Supercar… well, at least in the front.

2012 Mercedes SL interior

Yet then, upon viewing these new ‘leaked’ photos from Autoblog.nl of the new 2012 SL I couldn’t help surmising that it looks like a lengthened, widened, sleeker SLK… which, apart from the headlamps and other minor styling cues, is now actually closer in style/looks to the new SLS AMG Roadster

The new 2012 Mercedes SL - A sexier SLK...? or a watered-down SLS Roadster... ?

And yes yes… I’m fully aware that this is the ‘SL’ line of Mercedes 2-seater automobiles and that similarities are bound to be found (the old SLK looked a lot like a cutesy SLR), but I don’t think I’d be too far off the mark by proclaiming that this has become Inbred Automotive Styling (via Porsche) in full-effect here folks…

The new 2012 SL - taking more than inspiration from...

...the AMG SLS Roadster... ?

2012 SLK - looks like an SLS (head on)

-Blake J.
AutoInjected.com

Leave a Reply

